Review

EUROPEAN PHOTO EXHIBITION AWARD 02
THE NEW SOCIAL

up

House of Photography 1 April — 31 May 2015

From 1 April – 31 May 2015 twelve outstanding young European photographers will be presenting their photo essays on the topic »The New Social«. The photographers participating for Germany are Stephanie Steinkopf and Paula Winkler from Berlin as well as Kirill Golovchenko, originally from the Ukraine but now living in Mainz, Germany. The Deichtorhallen and the Körber-Foundation, co-initiator of this project, are offering a comprehensive accompanying programme.

The topic »The New Social« refers to the important political, social and cultural changes throughout Europe which enable new forms of democratic participation, while they also require a critical analysis of social values. In their photo essays the photographers refer to new life styles, manners and means of communication as well as changing working conditions, aspects of mobility and cultural identity.

Besides Golovchenko, Steinkopf und Winkler the following photographers participated in epea 02: Patrícia Almeida and André Cepeda from Portugal, Massimo Berruti and Simona Ghizzoni from Italy, Eric Giraudet de Boudemange from France, Jan Brykczynski from Poland, Linda Bournane Engelberth and Espen Rasmussen from Norway and Arja Hyytiäinen from Finland.

The photographers were selected by Ingo Taubhorn, Curator at the House of Photography, Hamburg, the Norwegian photographer Rune Eraker, the sociologist and curator Sérgio Mah from Portugal as well as Enrico Stefanelli, the Artistic Director of the Italian Photolux Festival in Lucca. The four curators supported the photographers during the development of their photographic comments. The presentation at the House of Photography at Deichtorhallen Hamburg is the final showcase of the touring exhibition which has previously been shown in Oslo, Lucca and Paris. The third round of the European Photo Exhibition Award with the topic »Shifting Boundaries - Landscapes of Ideals and Realities in Europe« is in preparation.

read more

Video Teaser

Gallery

Rückschau

EUROPEAN PHOTO EXHIBITION AWARD 02
THE NEW SOCIAL

Haus der Photographie 1. April — 31. Mai 2015

Vom 1. April bis 31. Mai zeigt das Haus der Photographie der Deichtorhallen Hamburg die fotografischen Essays von zwölf herausragenden jungen europäischen Fotografen zum Thema »The New Social«. Für Deutschland haben die Fotografen Stephanie Steinkopf und Paula Winkler aus Berlin sowie der aus der Ukraine stammende und derzeit in Mainz lebende Kirill Golovchenko an dem Projekt teilgenommen. Die Deichtorhallen und die Körber-Stiftung, Mitinitiatorin des Projekts, bieten ein Begleitprogramm zur Ausstellung an.

Das Thema »The New Social« nimmt Bezug auf die bedeutenden politischen, sozialen und kulturellen Veränderungen, die in Europa neue Formen der demokratischen Teilhabe ermöglichen, aber auch eine kritische Auseinandersetzung mit gesellschaftlichen Werten erfordern. Die Fotografen konnten in ihren Foto-Essays neue Lebensstile, Umgangsformen und Wege der Kommunikation ebenso aufgreifen wie veränderte Arbeitsbedingungen und Fragen der Mobilität und kulturellen Identität.

Neben Golovchenko, Steinkopf und Winkler nahmen folgende Fotografen an epea 02 teil: Patrícia Almeida und André Cepeda aus Portugal, Massimo Berruti und Simona Ghizzoni aus Italien, Eric Giraudet de Boudemange aus Frankreich, Jan Brykczynski aus Polen, Linda Bournane Engelberth und Espen Rasmussen aus Norwegen und Arja Hyytiäinen aus Finnland.

Ausgewählt wurden die Fotografen von Ingo Taubhorn, Kurator des Hauses der Photographie, Deichtorhallen Hamburg, dem norwegischen Fotografen Rune Eraker, dem Soziologen und Kurator Sérgio Mah aus Portugal sowie dem künstlerischen Leiter des italienischen Photolux Festivals in Lucca, Enrico Stefanelli. Die vier Kuratoren haben die Fotografen bei der Erarbeitung ihrer fotografischen Kommentare begleitet. Die Präsentation im Haus der Photographie der Deichtorhallen Hamburg bildet den Abschluss der Wanderausstellung, die über Oslo, Lucca und Paris führte. Die dritte Runde des European Photo Exhibition Award mit dem Thema »Shifting Boundaries - Landscapes of Ideals and Realities in Europe« ist in Vorbereitung.

weiterlesen

Video Teaser

Galerie

Katalog

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein englischer Katalog mit Abbildungen im Journal Verlag, Stockholm. 187 Seiten, 240 Abbildungen. Preis in der Ausstellung 20 Euro.