Review

EUROPEAN PHOTO EXHIBITION AWARD 03

shifting boundaries

up

House of Photography 3 March — 1 May 2017

From 3 March to 1 May 2017, the House of Photography at the Deichtorhallen Hamburg will be showing photo essays by twelve extraordinary young European photographers on the theme of Shifting Boundaries. The artists were nominated specifically to participate in the third round of the European Photo Exhibition Award (epea), a joint project by the Körber Foundation and three other European foundations. The photographers come from nine European countries. From the German-speaking countries, Jakob Ganslmeier from Bielefeld, Robin Hinsch from Hamburg, and the Vienna-basedphotographer Christina Werner are participating in the project. The House of Photography at the Deichtorhallen Hamburg and the Körber Foundation will offer a program of events to accompany the exhibition.

Experiencing, recognizing, and actively or passively dealing with borders—this phenomenon is characteristic of the situation in Europe not only at the present moment. How can we approach European history and understand the constant and complex changes in Europe? The theme of Shifting Boundaries makes reference to these lines of separation and calls on us to direct our gaze at geographic, sociocultural, and psychological barriers. In their photo essays, the photographers deal with the shifting of boundaries and urban changes in the past and the present and examine processes of perception and digitization.

In addition to Ganslmeier, Hinsch, and Werner, the following photographers are participating in epea 03: Arianna Arcara and Pierfrancesco Celada from Italy, Marthe Aune Eriksen and Eivind H. Natvig from Norway, Margarida Gouveia from Portugal, Marie Hald from Denmark, Dominic Hawgood from the United Kingdom, Ildikó Péter from Hungary and Marie Sommer from France.

The photographers were selected by Ingo Taubhorn, curator of the House of Photography at the Deichtorhallen Hamburg, the Norwegian photographer Rune Eraker, the sociologist and curator Sérgio Mah from Portugal, and the artistic director of the Photolux Festivals in Lucca, Enrico Stefanelli. The four curators accompanied the photographers as they developed their photographic commentaries.

read more

Video Trailer

Gallery

CATALOG

Accompanying the exhibition, an illustrated catalogue in English will be published. 192 pages, 134 illustrations, 20 euros at the exhibition.

Rückschau

EUROPEAN PHOTO EXHIBITION AWARD 03

shifting boundaries

Haus der Photographie 3. März — 1. Mai 2017

Vom 3. März bis 1. Mai 2017 zeigt das Haus der Photographie der Deichtorhallen Hamburg die fotografischen Essays von zwölf herausragenden jungen europäischen Fotografinnen und Fotografen zum Thema »Shifting Boundaries«. Die Künstler sind ausgewählte Teilnehmer der dritten Runde des European Photo Exhibition Award (epea), einem Gemeinschaftsprojekt der Körber-Stiftung mit drei weiteren europäischen Stiftungen. Die Fotografen kommen aus neun europäischen Ländern. Aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum nehmen Jakob Ganslmeier aus Bielefeld, Robin Hinsch aus Hamburg sowie die in Wien lebende Fotografin Christina Werner an dem Projekt teil. Das Haus der Photographie der Deichtorhallen Hamburg und die Körber-Stiftung bieten ein Begleitprogramm zur Ausstellung an.

Grenzen erfahren, erkennen und aktiv oder passiv mit ihnen umgehen – das ist ein Phänomen, das nicht nur gegenwärtig die Situation in Europa kennzeichnet. Wie kann man sich der europäischen Geschichte nähern und die ständigen und komplexen Veränderungen in Europa begreifen? Das Thema »Shifting Boundaries« nimmt Bezug auf diese Trennungs- bzw. Teilungslinien und fordert dazu auf, unseren Blick sowohl auf geographische, sozio-kulturelle als auch auf psychologische Schranken zu richten. In ihren Essays thematisieren die Fotografen historische und aktuelle Grenzverschiebungen und urbane Veränderungen und setzen sich mit Wahrnehmungsprozessen und Digitalisierung auseinander.

Neben Jacob Ganslmeier, Robin Hinsch und Christina Werner nehmen folgende Fotografen an epea 03 teil: Arianna Arcara und Pierfrancesco Celada aus Italien, Marthe Aune Eriksen und Eivind H. Natvig aus Norwegen, Margarida Gouveia aus Portugal, Marie Hald aus Dänemark, Dominic Hawgood aus Großbritannien, Ildikó Péter aus Ungarn und Marie Sommer aus Frankreich.

Ausgewählt wurden die Fotografen von Ingo Taubhorn, Kurator des Hauses der Photographie der Deichtorhallen Hamburg, dem norwegischen Fotografen Rune Eraker, dem Soziologen und Kurator Sérgio Mah aus Portugal sowie dem künstlerischen Leiter des italienischen Photolux Festivals in Lucca, Enrico Stefanelli. Die vier Kuratoren haben die Fotografen bei der Erarbeitung ihrer fotografischen Kommentare begleitet.

Die Präsentation im Haus der Photographie der Deichtorhallen Hamburg ist die dritte Station der europäischen Wanderausstellung, die über Paris und Lucca nach Hamburg führt und in Oslo ihren Abschluss findet.

weiterlesen

Video Trailer

Galerie

KATALOG

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein reich bebilderter Katalog in englischer Sprache mit deutschsprachigem Begleitheft, 192 Seiten, 134 Abbildungen, Preis in der Ausstellung 20 Euro.