Review

I WANT TO SEE
HOW YOU SEE.
JULIA STOSCHEK COLLECTION

up

Hall for Contemporary Art 16 April — 25 July 2010

The exhibition at the Hamburg’ Deichtorhallen will be the first extensive presentation of the JULIA STOSCHEK COLLECTION shown in the context of a museum worldwide. The exhibition, which will commence April 16, 2010, will feature 65 works by 54 artists from this very young private collection in a space extending of over 3,000 square meters.

The main focus of the presentation will be on film and video works produced in the last 40 years, a time range which applies to the entire Julia Stoschek Collection. Classics of video art, such as Marina Abramović’s Art must be beautiful/ Artist must be beautiful dating from 1975-76, Vito Acconci’s Opening s (1970) and Chris Burden’s Shoot (1971 are conjoined with more recent works of younger artists, giving viewers the opportunity to relate to the history of the still rather young genre of video art. The majority of the works were actually produced after 2000. They range from lyrical pieces such as Heike Baranowsky’s Mondfahrt and complex animation films such as Björk’s Wanderlust in 3D up to elaborate spatial installations by artists such as Monica Bonvicini, Anthony McCall, and Nathalie Djurberg.

The video works are accompanied by sculptures (e.g., by Nandipha Mntambo), photographic works (e.g., by Thomas Demand, Taryn Simon, Thomas Ruff) and installations (e.g., by Jeppe Hein). The title of the exhibition I Want To See How You See was derived from the work in the show by Pipilotti Rist (2003) of the same name. Most of the presented works reflect the production process or question the validity of the image via the staged realites generated in the realms of film or video. A recurring subject is the image of women as conveyed by the mass media.

Artists:
Marina Abramović / Vito Acconci / Pep Agut / Peggy Ahwesh / Doug Aitken / Eleanor Antin / Heike Baranowsky / Lynda Benglis / Walead Beshty / Björk (Encyclopedia Pictura) / Monica Bonvicini / Robert Boyd / Chris Burden / Jeff Burton / Matt Calderwood / Paul Chan / Patty Chang / Thomas Demand / Jen DeNike / Nathalie Djurberg / Claus Föttinger / Douglas Gordon / Cao Guimarães / Andreas Gursky / Jeppe Hein / Christian Jankowski / Isaac Julien / Terence Koh / Klara Liden / Gordon Matta-Clark / Anthony McCall / Adam McEwen / Alex McQuilkin / Nandipha Mntambo / Lutz Mommartz / Bruce Nauman / Carsten Nicolai / Tony Oursler / Paul Pfeiffer / Rob Pruitt / Pipilotti Rist / Aura Rosenberg / Martha Rosler / Mika Rottenberg / Thomas Ruff / Christoph Schlingensief / Carolee Schneemann / Taryn Simon / Wolfgang Tillmans / Steina Vasulka / Clemens von Wedemeyer / Franz West / Hannah Wilke / Aaron Young

read more

Gallery

Audio COLLECTORS TALK

CATALOG

„Julia Stoschek Collection – I Want To See How You See“, Snoeck Verlagsgesellschaft mbH, Ed. Dirk Luckow, with texts of Beate Söntgen, Dörte Zbikowski and an interview between Dirk Luckow and Julia Stoschek, Format 17,5 x 24,5 cm, 148 pages, Hardcover, , ISBN 978-3-940953-51-3, in German language, price on request.

Rückschau

I WANT TO SEE
HOW YOU SEE.
JULIA STOSCHEK COLLECTION

Halle für aktuelle Kunst 16. April — 25. Juli 2010

Weltweit erstmalig wird die JULIA STOSCHEK COLLECTION umfangreich außerhalb des privaten Sammlungshauses in Düsseldorf in einem musealen Kontext vorgestellt. Auf über 2.000 qm werden ab dem 16. April 2010 65 Werke von 54 Künstlern in den Deichtorhallen aus dieser jungen Privatsammlung präsentiert. In der Ausstellung liegt der Schwerpunkt auf Film- und Videoarbeiten der letzten 40 Jahre wie in der gesamten Sammlung von Julia Stoschek.

Klassiker der Video-Kunst wie Marina Abramovićs „Art must be beautiful,/Artist must be beautiful“ von 1975/76, Vito Acconcis „Openings“ (1970) und Chris Burdens „Shoot“ (1971) stehen jungen Arbeiten gegenüber und geben Gelegenheit, die historischen Bezüge in der noch jungen Gattung der Videokunst nachzuvollziehen. Der Großteil der Werke stammt aber aus den 2000er Jahren. Von eher lyrischen Arbeiten wie Heike Baranowskys „Mondfahrt“ über aufwendig animierte Filme wie Björks „Wanderlust“ in 3D oder Nathalie Djurbergs Knetanimationsfilm „It’s the Mother“ bis zu großartigen Rauminstallationen von Isaac Julien, Robert Boyd, Monica Bonvicini oder Anthony McCall.

Begleitend werden Skulpturen (z.B. von Nandipha Mntambo, Franz West), fotografische Arbeiten (z.B. von Thomas Demand, Taryn Simon, Thomas Ruff) und Installationen (z.B. von Jeppe Hein) gezeigt. Der Titel der Ausstellung „I Want To See How You See“ geht auf eine gleichnamige Arbeit von Pipilotti Rist (2003) zurück.Vielen Arbeiten ist gemein, dass sie den Produktionsprozess reflektieren oder die durch eine (Film- oder Foto-) Kamera inszenierte Wirklichkeit hinterfragen. Auch die Auseinandersetzung mit dem massenmedial vermittelten Frauenbild ist ein häufig auftauchendes Thema.

Die Ausstellung knüpft an die Tradition der Deichtorhallen an, große Sammlungen zu präsentieren. In diesem Fall handelt es sich um eine der bedeutendsten Sammlungen medial geprägter Kunst in Deutschland, was sicher mit dem Alter der Sammlerin (*1975) in Zusammenhang steht. Gleichzeitig knüpft die Schau an die Ausstellung der Mediale von 1993 an, in der erstmals medienorientierte Kunst in den Deichtorhallen breit gefächert zeigt wurde.

Künstler und Künstlerinnen:

Marina Abramović / Vito Acconci / Pep Agut / Peggy Ahwesh / Doug Aitken / Eleanor Antin / Heike Baranowsky / Lynda Benglis / Walead Beshty / Björk (Encyclopedia Pictura) / Monica Bonvicini / Robert Boyd / Chris Burden / Jeff Burton / Matt Calderwood / Paul Chan / Patty Chang /
Thomas Demand / Jen DeNike / Nathalie Djurberg / Claus Föttinger / Douglas Gordon / Cao Guimarães / Andreas Gursky / Jeppe Hein / Christian Jankowski / Isaac Julien / Terence Koh / Klara Liden / Gordon Matta-Clark / Anthony McCall / Adam McEwen / Alex McQuilkin / Nandipha Mntambo / Lutz Mommartz / Bruce Nauman / Carsten Nicolai / Tony Oursler / Paul Pfeiffer / Rob Pruitt / Pipilotti Rist / Aura Rosenberg / Martha Rosler / Mika Rottenberg / Thomas Ruff / Christoph Schlingensief / Carolee Schneemann / Taryn Simon / Wolfgang Tillmans / Steina Vasulka / Clemens von Wedemeyer / Franz West / Hannah Wilke / Aaron Young

weiterlesen

Galerie

Audio Sammlerinnengespräch

KATALOG

Das Buch „Julia Stoschek Collection – I Want To See How You See“ erscheint in der Snoeck Verlagsgesellschaft mbH, Hg. Dirk Luckow, mit Texten von Beate Söntgen, Dörte Zbikowski sowie einem Gespräch zwischen Dirk Luckow und Julia Stoschek, und 54 Texten zu den ausgestellten Werken mit farbigen Abbildungen. Format 17,5 x 24,5 cm, 148 Seiten, Hardcover, Surbalin bezogen mit PVC-Umschlag, ISBN 978-3-940953-51-3, Preis: 24,80 EUR