Current

IN THE HEART
OF ANOTHER COUNTRY

THE DIASPORIC IMAGINATION IN THE
SHARJAH ART FOUNDATION COLLECTION
#INTHEHEARTOFANOTHERCOUNTRY

up

Hall for Contemporary Art 28 October 2022 — 12 March 2023

My absence has been an exile from an exile.
Etel Adnan, In the Heart of the Heart of Another Country

In the Heart of Another Country explores the concept of home—of longing and belonging by artists who hail from multiple diasporas. The exhibition explores the ways that physical movement—how mobility across geographies, has shaped and contoured the frame of global art today. The artists, herein, have traversed migratory routes from South and West Asia, through Africa, and the Caribbean. Many now live in dispersed sites, far from where they first believed that they belonged.

Drawing on art from the international collection of Sharjah Art Foundation, UAE, In the Heart of Another Country showcases the work of 61 artists through over 140 artworks in all media, many of which have rarely, if ever, been seen outside of their original context. Recently restored installations are presented alongside contemporary acquisitions, which narrate a communal story of kinship amongst artists.

In the Heart of Another Country embodies the Sharjah Art Foundation Collection’s goal to present art that posits East-East and South-South alliances, forging a meeting point—a connective tissue that nurtures a polyphonous and inclusive art history.

The works featured in the exhibition, In the Heart of Another Country are brought together from the Sharjah Art Foundation Collection.
In the Heart of Another Country is organised by Deichtorhallen, Hamburg and Sharjah Art Foundation, UAE.
In the Heart of Another Country is curated by Dr Omar Kholeif, Director of Collections and Senior Curator, Sharjah Art Foundation, UAE.
Exhibition Designer and Architectural Consultant: Todd Reisz.

Artists

Bani Abidi, Sarah Abu Abdallah, Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Etel Adnan, Latif Al Ani, Khadim Ali, Halil Altindere, Minam Apang, Rasheed Araeen, Thuraya Al-Baqsami, Shiraz Bayjoo, Semiha Berksoy, Huma Bhabha, Huguette Caland, CAMP, Tony Chakar, Saloua Raouda Choucair, Tiffany Chung, Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian, Simone Fattal, Marcos Grigorian, Abbas Habiballa, Joana Hadjithomas & Khalil Joreige, Rokni Haerizadeh, Taloi Havini, Susan Hefuna, Adam Henein, Lubaina Himid, Emily Jacir, Hayv Kahraman, Ali Kazim, Amal Kenawy, Aisha Khalid, Anuar Khalifi, David Koloane, Farideh Lashai, Tala Madani, Taus Makhacheva, Jumana Manna, Marwan, Ibrahim Massouda, Ahmed Mater, Ahmed Morsi, Fateh Moudarres, Khalil Rabah, Michael Rakowitz, Marwan Rechmaoui, Ibrahim El-Salahi, Mohan Samant, Hrair Sarkissian, Hassan Sharif, Wael Shawky, Anwar Jalal Shemza, Ahmed Shibrain, Shahzia Sikander, Rayyane Tabet, Richard Lokiden Wani, Nari Ward, Lionel Wendt, Kamal Youssef, Akram Zaatari

About Sharjah Art Foundation Collection
The Sharjah Art Foundation Collection’s roots were seeded with acquisitions and commissions from the Sharjah Biennial and Foundation. It has since grown to be one of the Middle East’s pre-eminent collections, serving to enrich the lives of audiences through the acquisition and rotating exhibition of significant works of modern and contemporary art, both locally and inter- nationally. The more than 1,300 works span art movements from the 1920s to the present day in an ever-expanding range of visual culture and forms. Reflecting Sharjah’s history as a major regional trade route, the collection acts as a node that connects cultures through modern and contemporary art. The collection proposes a re-authoring of the history of art, contextualising it from a South/South and East/East perspective while offering an alternative view that shifts the axis of this history to a more inclusive, intergenerational, and transcultural one.

About Sharjah Art Foundation

Sharjah Art Foundation is an advocate, catalyst, and producer of contemporary art within the Emirate of Sharjah and the surrounding region, in dialogue with the international arts community. Under the leadership of founder Hoor Al Qasimi, a curator and artist, the foundation advances an experimental and wide-ranging programmatic model that supports the production and presentation of contemporary art, preserves, and celebrates the distinct culture of the region and encourages a shared understanding of the transformational role of art. The foundation’s core initiatives include the long-running Sharjah Biennial, featuring contemporary artists from around the world; the annual March Meeting, a convening of international arts professionals and artists; grants and residencies for artists, curators, and cultural producers; ambitious and experimental commissions and a range of travelling exhibitions and scholarly publications.

Established in 2009 to expand programmes beyond the Sharjah Biennial, which launched in 1993, the foundation is a critical resource for artists and cultural organizations in the Gulf and a conduit for local, regional, and international developments in contemporary art. The foundation’s deep assurance to developing and sustaining the cultural life and heritage of Sharjah is reflected through year- round exhibitions, performances, screenings, and educational programmes in the city of Sharjah and across the Emirate, often hosted in historic buildings that have been repurposed as cultural and community centres. A growing collection reflects the foundation’s support of contemporary artists in the realization of new work and its recognition of the contributions made by pioneering modern artists from the region and around the world.

Sharjah Art Foundation is a legally independent public body established by Emiri Decree and supported by government funding, grants from national and international non-profits and cultural organizations, corporate sponsors, and individual patrons. All its exhibitions are free and open to the public.

read more

Audio An introduction by curator Dr. Omar Kholeif

Gallery

EXHIBITION WEBSITE

On the exhibition website www.intheheartofanothercountry.com you will find further information, videos, audios as well as the possibility to have a closer look at 3D objects of selected exhibition specimens.

VISIT THE WEBSITE

CATALOGUE

The exhibition will be accompanied by a catalogue published by Snoek Verlag, edited by Omar Kholeif. 320 pages, clothbound, 240 x 210 mm, many coloured illustrations, text (German/English) by Omar Kholeif, introduction/forword by Dirk Luckow and Sheikha Hoor Al Qassimi. 35 euros

VISIT OUR ONLINE-SHOP

Programm Ausstellungsbegleitende Veranstaltungen

Aktuell

IN THE HEART OF
ANOTHER COUNTRY

ERZÄHLUNGEN AUS DER DIASPORA
WERKE DER SHARJAH ART FOUNDATION COLLECTION
#INTHEHEARTOFANOTHERCOUNTRY

Nach Oben

Halle für aktuelle Kunst 28. Oktober 2022 — 12. März 2023

Meine Abwesenheit war ein Exil vom Exil. – Etel Adnan, Im Herzen des Herzens eines anderen Landes

In the Heart of Another Country erkundet den Heimatbegriff als Gefühl der Sehnsucht und Zugehörigkeit von Künstler*innen verschiedener Diasporagruppen. Die Ausstellung widmet sich der Frage, in welcher Weise physische Bewegung – Mobilität über Ländergrenzen hinweg – die Rahmenbedingungen des internationalen zeitgenössischen Kunstschaffens formten. Auf ihren Migrationsrouten durchquerten die Künstler*innen Süd- und Westasien, Afrika und die Karibik. Die meisten von ihnen leben heute über die ganze Welt verstreut und weit von den Orten entfernt, zu denen sie sich ursprünglich zugehörig fühlten.

Mit mehr als 140 Kunstwerken aus der internationalen Sammlung der Sharjah Art Foundation, VAE, präsentiert In the Heart of Another Country die Arbeit von 61 Künstler*innen aller Kunstrichtungen. Viele dieser Werke wurden bisher selten oder nie außerhalb ihres ursprünglichen Zusammenhangs ausgestellt. Die Exponate reichen von frisch restaurierten Installationen bis zu aktuellen Neuerwerbungen, die verbunden sind durch ein gemeinsames Narrativ der Zugehörigkeit.

In the Heart of Another Country steht für das Ziel der Sharjah Art Foundation, mit ihrer Sammlung Kunst zu zeigen, die Ost-Ost- und Süd-Süd-Bündnisse postuliert, und an einem Schnittpunkt zusammenzuführen, um eine fruchtbare Grundlage für eine vielstimmige und inklusive Kunstgeschichte zu schaffen.

In the Heart of Another Country wird veranstaltet von den Deichtorhallen Hamburg und der Sharjah Art Foundation, UAE.
Die Ausstellung wurde kuratiert von Dr. Omar Kholeif, Director of Collections and Senior Curator, Sharjah Art Foundation, UAE.
Ausstellungsdesign und Architektur: Todd Reisz.

Künstler*innen:

Bani Abidi, Sarah Abu Abdallah, Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Etel Adnan, Latif Al Ani, Khadim Ali, Halil Altindere, Minam Apang, Rasheed Araeen, Thuraya Al-Baqsami, Shiraz Bayjoo, Semiha Berksoy, Huma Bhabha, Huguette Caland, CAMP, Tony Chakar, Saloua Raouda Choucair, Tiffany Chung, Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian, Simone Fattal, Marcos Grigorian, Abbas Habiballa, Joana Hadjithomas & Khalil Joreige, Rokni Haerizadeh, Taloi Havini, Susan Hefuna, Adam Henein, Lubaina Himid, Emily Jacir, Hayv Kahraman, Ali Kazim, Amal Kenawy, Aisha Khalid, Anuar Khalifi, David Koloane, Farideh Lashai, Tala Madani, Taus Makhacheva, Jumana Manna, Marwan, Ibrahim Massouda, Ahmed Mater, Ahmed Morsi, Fateh Moudarres, Khalil Rabah, Michael Rakowitz, Marwan Rechmaoui, Ibrahim El-Salahi, Mohan Samant, Hrair Sarkissian, Hassan Sharif, Wael Shawky, Anwar Jalal Shemza, Ahmed Shibrain, Shahzia Sikander, Rayyane Tabet, Richard Lokiden Wani, Nari Ward, Lionel Wendt, Kamal Youssef, Akram Zaatari

Über die Sharjah Art Foundation Collection
Neuerwerbungen und Auftragsarbeiten für die Sharjah Biennal und die Stiftung lieferten den Startschuss für die Sammlung der Sharjah Art Foundation. Inzwischen ist sie zu einer der herausragendsten Sammlungen des Nahen Ostens angewachsen, die sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat, das Leben von Kunstinteressierten durch Neuerwerbungen und Wanderausstellungen bedeutender Werke der modernen und zeitgenössischen Kunst auf lokaler und internationaler Ebene zu bereichern. Ihre mehr als 1.300 Werke bilden künstlerische Strömungen von den 1920er Jahren bis in die heutige Zeit über eine immer breitere Palette von Kunstrichtungen und -formen ab. Angesichts der historischen Rolle der Hafenstadt Sharjah als regionale Handelsroute dient die Sammlung als Knotenpunkt, an dem die Kulturen über moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst miteinander in Kontakt treten. Die Sammlung versucht eine Neufassung der Kunstgeschichte durch ihre Verortung in einer Süd-Süd- und Ost-Ost-Perspektive. Gleichzeitig ermöglicht sie einen alternativen Blick, der Aspekte wie Inklusion, Intergenerationalität und Transkulturalität in der Kunstgeschichte stärker betont.

Über die
Sharjah Art Foundation
Die Sharjah Art Foundation versteht sich als Förderin, Impulsgeberin und Produzentin zeitgenössischer Kunst im Emirat Sharjah und der angrenzenden Region und steht im Dialog mit der internationalen Kunstszene. Unter der Leitung ihrer Gründerin, der Kuratorin und Künstlerin Hoor Al Qasimi, verfolgt die Stiftung ein experimentelles und vielfältiges Programm, um die Produktion und Präsentation zeitgenössischer Kunst zu fördern, die eigenständige Kultur der Region zu bewahren und zu würdigen und ein gemeinsames Verständnis der transformierenden Rolle der Kunst zu vermitteln. Zu den wichtigsten Initiativen der Stiftung gehört die Veranstaltung der Sharjah Biennial, die bereits seit vielen Jahren zeitgenössische Künstler*innen aus aller Welt präsentiert. Auf ihren jährlichen March-Meetings kommen internationale Kunstexpert*innen und Künstler*innen zusammen. Darüber hinaus vergibt die Stiftung Stipendien und Residenzen an Künstler*innen, Kurator*innen und Kulturproduzent*innen sowie anspruchsvolle und experimentelle Auftragsarbeiten, veranstaltet eine Vielzahl von Wanderausstellungen und veröffentlicht wissenschaftliche Publikationen.

Die Stiftung wurde 2009 mit dem Ziel gegründet, die Sharjah Biennale programmatisch zu erweitern. Sie bietet Künstler*innen und Kultureinrichtungen in der Golf-Region wertvolle Ressourcen und dient als Plattform für lokale, regionale und internationale Entwicklungen im Bereich der zeitgenössischen Kunst. Die Stiftung engagiert sich ganz gezielt für die Förderung und den Erhalt des kulturellen Lebens und Erbes von Sharjah. Zu diesem Zweck veranstaltet sie ganzjährig Ausstellungen, Performances, Filmvorführungen und Bildungsprogramme in der Stadt und im gesamten Emirat, oft in historischen Gebäuden, die zu Kultur- und Gemeinschaftszentren umfunktioniert wurden. Die stetig wachsende Sammlung zeugt von der Unterstützung der Stiftung für neue Projekte zeitgenössischer Künstler*innen sowie von ihrer Anerkennung für den Beitrag der Pioniere der modernen Kunst auf regionaler und internationaler Ebene.

Die Sharjah Art Foundation ist eine rechtlich unabhängige öffentliche Einrichtung, die per Emiri-Dekret gegründet wurde und durch staatliche Mittel, Zuschüsse von nationalen und internationalen gemeinnützigen und kulturellen Organisationen, Unternehmenssponsoren und individuellen Förderern unterstützt wird. Ihre Ausstellungen sind kostenlos und öffentlich.

weiterlesen

Audio Audioguide zur Ausstellung

Audio An introduction by curator Dr. Omar Kholeif

Galerie

WEBSITE ZUR AUSSTELLUNG

Auf der Ausstellungswebsite www.intheheartofanothercountry.com erhalten Sie weiterführende Informationen, Videos, Audios sowie die Möglichkeit, 3D-Objekte von ausgewählten Ausstellungsexemplaren genauer zu betrachten.

ZUR WEBSITE

KATALOG

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog im Snoek Verlag, herausgegeben von Omar Kholeif, 320 Seiten, Leineneinband, 240 x 210 mm, mit zahlreichen farbigen Abbildungen, Deutsch/Englisch. Mit Beiträgen von Bani Abidi, Nawar Al Qassimi, Skye Arundhati Thomas, Stephanie Bailey, Anne Barlow, Lubaina Himid, Omar Kholeif, Zeina Al Kattan, Chris McCormack, Sarah Perks, Reem Sawan und Sofia Victorino und Vorworten von Hoor Al Qasimi und Dirk Luckow. 35,00 Euro in der Ausstellung und 58,00 im Buchhandel.

ZUM ONLINE-SHOP

KUNSTLABOR #25

In Kooperation mit zwölf Hamburger Schulen fand im November 2022 das 25. Kunstlabor der Deichtorhallen Hamburg statt. Insgesamt 23 Jugendliche zwischen 12 und 19 Jahren haben unter Anleitung der Künstler*innen Sabine Flunker und André Lützen eigene künstlerische Ideen entwickelt. Die Ergebnisse der Projektwoche werden bis Ende Januar 2023 in der Galerie im Gang der Halle für aktuelle Kunst ausgestellt.

EINDRÜCKE

Programm Ausstellungsbegleitende Veranstaltungen