Review

NOBUYOSHI ARAKI
SILENT WISHES

up

House of Photography 18 June — 29 August 2010

The exhibition of works by Nobuyoshi Araki (b. 1940), »Silent Wishes«, staged in collaboration with Museum der Moderne in Salzburg, includes some 150 black & white photographs. The works exhibited focus on the early photographs by the young, still unknown Araki, which were taken from the late 1960s to the mid-1970s. There are also examples of his later work that address the calm, erotic Tokyo beyond the hectic business facade.

The heart of the exhibition is the intimate series »My Wife Yoko« from the Museum der Moderne collection, describing and revolving around the artist’s young wife on their honeymoon, in their home, and on excursions nearby. These works are complemented by a series of 12 photographs from 1989/1990, with which Araki accompanied his wife during her fatal illness: »Winter Journey« tells the moving story of bidding farewell. More recent photographs show the photographer Araki as he became world famous: as the narrator of erotic scenes and portraits of females.

read more

KATALOG

To accompany the exhibition Museum der Moderne in Salzburg has brought out a book with texts by Margit Zuckriegl and Christian Martin Fuchs. It is published by Verlag publication PN°1 Bibliothek der Provinz. 136 pages, with b/w illustrations, size: 30 cm, bound, in German, Price: 22 Euro

Rückschau

NOBUYOSHI ARAKI
SILENT WISHES

Haus der Photographie 18. Juni — 29. August 2010

Die in Kooperation mit dem Museum der Moderne Salzburg präsentierte Ausstellung des japanischen Fotografen Nobuyoshi Araki (geb. 1940) »Silent Wishes« umfasst rund 150 Schwarzweiß-Fotografien. Die ausgestellten Werke konzentrieren sich auf die frühen Fotografien des jungen, noch unbekannten Araki, die ab Ende der 1960er bis Mitte der 1970er Jahre entstanden. Exemplarisch schließen sich neuere Arbeiten über das stille, das erotische Tokio jenseits der hektischen Business-Fassade an.

Im Zentrum steht die intime Serie »My Wife Yoko« aus dem Besitz des Museums der Moderne Salzburg, welche die junge Frau des Künstlers auf der Hochzeitsreise, im eigenen Haus, bei Ausflügen in ihrer Umgebung beschreibt und umkreist. Ergänzt werden diese Arbeiten von einer Serie mit 12 Fotografien aus den Jahren 1989/1990, mit denen Araki seine Frau während ihrer letalen Krankheit begleitet: »Winter Journey« erzählt die berührende Geschichte des Abschiednehmens. Neuere Fotografien zeigen den Fotografen Araki so, wie er weltweit bekannt wurde: Als Schilderer erotischer Szenen und weiblicher Bildnisse.

weiterlesen

KATALOG

Zur Ausstellung hat das Museum der Moderne Salzburg eine Publikation mit Texten von Margit Zuckriegl und Christian Martin Fuchs herausgegeben. Verlag publication PN°1 Bibliothek der Provinz. 136 Seiten, mit Schwarzweiß-Abbildungen, Maße: 30 cm, gebunden, deutsch, Preis: 22 Euro