F.C. Gundlach
1926 – 2021

up

Foto: Sabine Lewandowski Foto: Sabine Lewandowski

We mourn the passing of Professor F.C. Gundlach, who died in Hamburg on 23 July 2021 at the age of 95. F.C. Gundlach dedicated his life entirely to photography as an outstanding photographer, entrepreneur, gallerist, collector, curator, teacher, director, benefactor and patron.

As a patron and curator of photographic art, he gave his extensive collection to the Hamburg Deichtorhallen on permanent loan in 2003. The associated establishment of the House of Photography fulfilled F.C. Gundlach’s long-held wish, which began with the founding of the Arbeitskreis für Photographie (Working Group for Photography) in 1993 and the initiation of the first Triennial of Photography in Hamburg in 1999. F.C. Gundlach said in 2003, “I am especially pleased that the city of Hamburg has decided to give my collection such a representative location in the southern Deichtorhalle. The House of Photography is also meant to become a meeting place, a vital institution that, with changing exhibitions, workshops and symposia, will give the medium of photography the attention it deserves.” This enabled Hamburg to successfully join the circle of similar institutions that had long existed in France, Switzerland and the USA.

“F.C. Gundlach, a great photographer and photographic visionary, was one of the first to campaign for acceptance of photography as an art form. As early as 1975, he founded the PPS. Galerie F.C. Gundlach, one of the first photography galleries in Germany, and began to build up his photographic collection – long before photography had a permanent place in museums and long before the art market discovered it,” says Professor Dirk Luckow, General Director of the Deichtorhallen Hamburg. “It is thanks to his intense passion for collecting that his collection can today be counted among the most important private photographic collections of international standing. We are very proud to look after this extraordinary collection, to create exhibitions and to develop an extensive supporting programme based on it, thus keeping F.C. Gundlach’s life’s work alive.”

“Even beyond his active phase as founding director of the House of Photography from 2003 to 2005, F.C. Gundlach was always a highly valued advisor and source of inspiration for us. His voice carried weight in Hamburg and far beyond, he was considered the doyen of German photography. It is thanks to him and the founding of the Triennial of Photography and the House of Photography that Hamburg is the capital of photography in Germany,” adds Bert Antonius Kaufmann, Chief Financial Officer of the Deichtorhallen Hamburg.

“This multilayered medium would not be so widely discussed in Europe today if the visionary F.C. Gundlach had not treated every genre of photography equally from the start. After all, Gundlach believed in the Canadian media theorist Marshall McLuhan’s thesis that “The medium is the message,” just as he always promoted and collected new photography far above its market value. This attitude is still evident today at the House of Photography." – Ingo Taubhorn, curator of the House of Photography.

“The wonderful F.C. Gundlach Collection is not only a great source for the history of photography due to its multilayered holdings and its very exciting photographic auteurs. It has always been particularly fascinating for me not just to work with the photographs from the collection and to create entire parallel worlds, but also to “work on” my collector: To skillfully weave him into conversations. To motivate him to remember countless events. To watch with a smile as he indulged in spirited revelry, but at the same time also judged matters, aptly characterized them, corrected, brought up buried details, and just casually waved aside certain “facts.” F.C. Gundlach was a passionate witness of his time who embodied the history of photography—simply because he lived it.” – Dr. Sabine Schnakenberg, curator of the F.C. Gundlach Collection at the House of Photography.

For his tireless commitment to photography, F.C. Gundlach received numerous honours, including the Federal Cross of Merit with Ribbon, professorships at the Berlin University of the Arts and the Hamburg University of Fine Arts, the Cultural Award of the German Society for Photography, the leading German photography prize, the Henri Nannen Prize and many more.

F.C. Gundlach
1926 – 2021

Foto: Sabine Lewandowski Foto: Sabine Lewandowski

Wir trauern um Prof. F.C. Gundlach, der am 23. Juli 2021 in Hamburg im Alter von 95 Jahren verstarb. F.C. Gundlach widmete sein Leben ganz der Fotografie, als herausragender Fotograf, Unternehmer, Galerist, Sammler, Kurator, Lehrer, Direktor, Stifter und Förderer.

Als Mäzen und Kurator von Fotokunst übergab er seine umfangreiche Sammlung 2003 den Hamburger Deichtorhallen als Dauerleihgabe. Mit der damit verbundenen Gründung des Hauses der Photographie ging ein lang gehegter Wunsch von F.C. Gundlach in Erfüllung, der mit der Gründung des »Arbeitskreises für Photographie« im Jahr 1993 und der Initiierung der ersten Triennale der Photographie in Hamburg 1999 begann.

F.C. Gundlach 2003 dazu: »Dass sich die Stadt Hamburg entschlossen hat, meiner Sammlung mit der südlichen Deichtorhalle einen so repräsentativen Ort zu geben, freut mich besonders. Das ‚Haus der Photographie’ soll darüber hinaus zu einer Begegnungsstätte werden, zu einer vitalen Institution, die mit wechselnden Ausstellungen, Workshops und Symposien dem Medium Photographie die Aufmerksamkeit verschafft, das es verdient.« Damit war für Hamburg die Möglichkeit eröffnet, sich in den Kreis ähnlicher Institutionen wie sie in Frankreich, der Schweiz und den USA längst bestanden, erfolgreich einzureihen.

»F.C. Gundlach, ein großartiger Fotograf und Foto-Visionär hat als einer der Ersten für die Akzeptanz des Mediums Fotografie als Kunstform gekämpft. Schon 1975 hat er mit der PPS. Galerie F.C. Gundlach eine der ersten Fotogalerien Deutschlands gegründet und begonnen, seine fotografische Sammlung aufzubauen - lange bevor die Fotografie einen festen Platz in den Museen hatte und der Kunstmarkt sie entdeckte«, so Prof. Dr. Dirk Luckow, Intendant der Deichtorhallen Hamburg. »Seiner intensiven Sammelleidenschaft ist es zu verdanken, dass seine Sammlung heute zu einer der bedeutendsten privaten fotografischen Sammlungen internationalen Ranges gezählt werden kann. Wir sind sehr stolz, diese außerordentliche Sammlung zu betreuen, Ausstellungen aus ihr zu konzipieren und ein umfangreiches Rahmenprogramm daraus zu entwickeln und so das Lebenswerk F.C. Gundlachs lebendig zu halten.«

»F.C. Gundlach war uns auch über seine aktive Phase als Gründungsdirektor des Hauses der Photographie von 2003 bis 2005 und als langjähriges Aufsichtsratsmitglied immer ein hoch geschätzter Berater und Impulsgeber - seine Stimme hatte in Hamburg und weit darüber hinaus Gewicht, er galt als Doyen der Fotografie Deutschlands. Ihm ist es durch die Gründung der Triennale der Photographie und des Hauses der Photographie zu verdanken, dass Hamburg die Hauptstadt der Fotografie in Deutschland ist«, ergänzt Bert Antonius Kaufmann, Kaufmännischer Direktor der Deichtorhallen Hamburg.

»Das vielschichtige Medium würde heute in Europa nicht so breit diskutiert werden, wenn der Visionär F.C. Gundlach nicht von Anfang an jede Gattung der Fotografie gleichberechtigt behandelt hätte. Denn für Gundlach galt die These des kanadischen Medientheoretikers Marshall McLuhan: Das Medium ist die Botschaft genauso wie er immer auch junge Fotografie fern ihres Marktwertes gefördert und gesammelt hat. Diese Haltung findet sich bis heute im Haus der Photographie wieder.« Ingo Taubhorn, Kurator Haus der Photographie.

»Die wunderbare Sammlung von F.C. Gundlach ist nicht nur durch ihre Vielschichtigkeit und ihre sehr spannenden Bildautoren eine großartige Quelle der Fotografiegeschichte. Besonders faszinierend für mich war es immer, nicht nur mit den Fotografien der Sammlung zu arbeiten und dabei ganze Parallelwelten entstehen zu lassen, sondern dazu auch meinen Sammler zu „bearbeiten“: Ihn geschickt einzuspinnen in Gespräche. Ihn zu motivieren, sich an unzählige Begebenheiten zu erinnern. Lächelnd zuzuschauen, wie er darüber in temperamentvolles Schwelgen geriet, gleichzeitig aber auch Sachverhalte beurteilte, sie treffsicher auf den Punkt brachte, korrigierte, verschüttete Tatsachen hervorhob und bei bestimmten „Fakten“ einfach nur gelassen abwinkte. F.C. Gundlach war ein leidenschaftlicher Zeitzeuge, der Fotografiegeschichte verkörperte – einfach, weil er sie lebte.« Dr. Sabine Schnakenberg, Kuratorin der Sammlung F.C. Gundlach am Haus der Photographie.

Für seinen unermüdlichen Einsatz für die Fotografie erhielt F.C. Gundlach zahlreiche Ehrungen, darunter das Bundesverdienstkreuz am Bande, Professuren an der Hochschule der Künste Berlin und der Hamburger Hochschule für Bildende Kunst, den Kulturpreis der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Photographie, den bedeutendsten deutschen Fotopreis, den Henri-Nannen-Preis u.v.m.

Lesen Sie einen ausführlichen Nachruf auf F.C. Gundlach in unserem Online-Magazin HALLE4.