Preview

PAOLO PELLEGRIN
UN'ANTOLOGIA

RETROSPECTIVE OF THE MAGNUM-PHOTOGRAPHER
#PaoloPellegrinDTH

up

House of Photography 31 October 2019 — 1 March 2020

Paolo Pellegrin is known today as one of the world’s leading documentary and conflict photographers. A winner of many awards and the Robert Capa Gold Medal (among many others), he has been a full member of Magnum Photos since 2001. The career‐spanning exhibition PAOLO PELLEGRIN – UN’ANTOLOGIA at the House of Photography sheds new light on his creative vision. At its core is Paolo Pellegrin’s reportage photography, drawn from his personal archive and featuring work created throughout his career from the early 1990s to the present day. However, this is not a conventional retrospective.

UN’ANTOLOGIA, was curated by Germano Celant, a celebrated Italian art historian, for the MAXXI, Rome. The exhibition, which will be extended by further works in Hamburg, is a meditation on the impact, consequences and legacy of the human condition, as witnessed by Pellegrin, and an exploration of his artistic vision. The combination surprises, challenges and fascinates in turn.

More than 200 analogue and digital prints, some vintage, some unpublished, are displayed in the exhibition accompanied by the bare minimum of interpretive text. Instead, the photographs are contextualized by occasional video clips shot by the photographer and a fascinating installation – created in the gallery by Pellegrin himself – which uses notebooks, sketches, prints, negatives, transparencies and printed ephemera to showcase the exhaustive process of visual research which underpins Pellegrin’s working practice. The interactive nature of the installation entices the visitor to browse and investigate, thereby experiencing something of the way in which Pellegrin works.

UN’ANTOLOGIA is a fitting tribute to Pellegrin’s lifelong engagement with the human condition, but it also serves as an important reminder that reportage photography was, is, and always will be far more than simply a medium for news and information.

THE EXHIBITION WAS ORIGINATED BY MAXXI, ROME, WITH CANON AS DIGITAL IMAGING PARTNER

read more

Video Teaser

Gallery

OPENING

Thursday, 31 October 2019
11.30 p.m. at the House of Photography
Paolo Pellegrin will be present. Guided tour through the exhibition at 3 p.m. (free admission)

Programm Ausstellungsbegleitende Veranstaltungen

Aktuell

PAOLO PELLEGRIN
UN'ANTOLOGIA

WERKSCHAU DES MAGNUM-FOTOGRAFEN
#PaoloPellegrinDTH

Haus der Photographie 31. Oktober 2019 — 1. März 2020

Paolo Pellegrin zählt zu den bekanntesten Dokumentar- und Kriegsfotografen weltweit. Der Gewinner zahlreicher Fotopreise und der Capa Goldmedaille ist seit 2001 Mitglied der weltweit renommierten Fotoagentur Magnum Photos. Die Ausstellung PAOLO PELLEGRIN – UN’ANTOLOGIA im Haus der Photographie der Deichtorhallen Hamburg wirft ein neues Licht auf die kreative Vision des italienischen Fotografen. Kuratiert von dem renommierten Kunsthistoriker Germano Celant, der als künstlerischer Leiter der Prada-Stiftung in Mailand tätig ist, wurde die Ausstellung erstmals im MAXXI, Rom, gezeigt. In Hamburg wird die Ausstellung durch zusätzliche Werke erweitert.

Mehr als 200 analoge und digitale Drucke, teils Vintage, teils unveröffentlicht, werden in der Ausstellung präsentiert, begleitet von einem Minimum an Wandtexten. Stattdessen werden die Fotografien durch Videoclips des Fotografen und eine spektakuläre Installation ­– von Pellegrin selbst konzipiert – kontextualisiert. Die in der Ausstellung gezeigten Notizbücher, Skizzen, Drucke, Negative, Folien und gedruckten Ephemera veranschaulichen den Prozess seiner visuellen Forschung, die einen immanent wichtigen Teil seiner Arbeitspraxis darstellt. Der interaktive Charakter der Installation lädt die Besucher*innen zum Stöbern und Nachforschen ein, und ermöglicht es ihnen, die Arbeitsweise Pellegrins nachzuvollziehen.

In seiner langen Karriere, die 1987 begann, hat Pellegrin viele Einzelausstellungen präsentiert. Die Zusammenstellung und Präsentation der Ausstellung in Hamburg überrascht, fordert und fasziniert zugleich: UN’ANTOLOGIA ist eine Meditation über die Auswirkungen, Folgen und das Vermächtnis von menschlichem Leid, wie Pellegrin es dokumentiert hat sowie eine Auseinandersetzung mit seiner künstlerischen Vision.

UN‘ANTOLOGIA ist eine Hommage an Pellegrins lebenslange Beschäftigung mit dem menschlichen Dasein, dient aber auch als wichtige Erinnerung daran, dass Reportage-Fotografie weit mehr war, ist und bleibt als nur ein Medium für die tägliche Nachrichtenberichterstattung.


Die Ausstellung wurde für das MAXXI, Rom, zusammengestellt und dort von Canon als Digital Imaging Partner unterstützt.

weiterlesen

Video Teaser

Video Paolo Pellegrin über die Ausstellung

Video Paolo Pellegrin über seine Arbeit in Schwarz-Weiß

Galerie

Programm Ausstellungsbegleitende Veranstaltungen

Entdecken