Current

Tom Sachs
Space Program:
Rare Earths

#TomSachsDTH

up

Hall for Contemporary Art 19 September 2021 — 10 April 2022

The Deichtorhallen Hamburg is pleased to host Tom Sachs and his team of sculptor-astronauts as they prepare to advance space exploration on their next interstellar mission, SPACE PROGRAM: RARE EARTHS. The fourth exhibition in Sachs’s Space Program series, a thirteen-year exploration of the boundaries of other worlds and human possibilities, SPACE PROGRAM: RARE EARTHS will be on display from 19 September 2021 to 10 April 2022.

Sachs will transform the impressive Hall of Contemporary Art at the Deichtorhallen, utilizing over 3,000 square meters of gallery space to create an interactive landscape featuring original sculptures and bricolage works.

Visitors will be invited to undergo an indoctrination process in which they will prove their worth through a series of tasks and questions and thus earn the right to participate in the installation as a member of Sachs’ team, witnessing iconic elements from past missions, including the Landing Excursion Module (LEM) and Mission Control, as well as new installations and a live demonstration of the program’s flight plan. Once indoctrinated, supplicants will be encouraged to submit to the Ritual of Transubstantiation.

By separating themselves from their mobile devices, they will provide vital contributions to Sachs’s study of our mental interconnectivity, addiction to technology, and successful harvest of The Abyss.

In SPACE PROGRAM: RARE EARTHS, Sachs’ astronauts head to VESTA, the brightest and closest asteroid to Earth, with one goal: to harvest the protoplanet’s rare earth minerals, needed to perpetuate Earth’s addiction to technology. Sachs and his crew have engineered all that is necessary for survival from plywood, foam core, screws, hot glue, and various other tools of their trade.

read more

Video A Space Program Trailer

Gallery

CATALOG

An exhibition guide with explanatory texts by Studio Tom Sachs on the individual installations of the "Space Program" will be published and included in the admission price. Format A4, 20 p., German/English.

After the opening, a zine designed by the artist with numerous installation photographs will be published, handmade, limited and numbered, 80 pages.

Edition: NASA Chair

A limited availability of 100 Mission Control and audience NASA chairs by the American artist Tom Sachs (*1966) will shortly be exclusively available at Deichtorhallen Hamburg. The edition is available only in our museum store.

Each Hercules Series 650 folding chair was used during the space mission at the Hall of Contemporary Art that took two astronauts to the surface of 4-Vesta. Each chair is individually screen printed with NASA logo and hand labeled with a hero's name from personalities who are inspirational to Tom Sachs. Each chair has a unique serial number and signed by the artist. The chairs contain trace dust from the mission to 4-Vesta and signs of use.

Programm Ausstellungsbegleitende Veranstaltungen

Aktuell

Tom Sachs
Space Program:
Rare Earths
(Seltene Erden)

#TomSachsHamburg

Halle für aktuelle Kunst 19. September 2021 — 10. April 2022

Vom 19. September 2021 bis zum 10. April 2022 begeben sich die Deichtorhallen Hamburg gemeinsam mit dem amerikanischen Künstler Tom Sachs und seinem Team von Bildhauer*innen und Astronaut*innen auf eine interstellare Mission, dem SPACE PROGRAM: RARE EARTHS (SELTENE ERDEN). Diese vierte Ausstellung in Sachs' »Space Program« ist Teil einer dreizehnjährigen Erkundungsreise an die Grenzen anderer Welten und menschlicher Möglichkeiten zur Erforschung des Weltraums.

Auf 3.000 Quadratmetern Ausstellungsfläche wird Tom Sachs die Halle für aktuelle Kunst mit neuen und bereits bestehenden Bricolage-Arbeiten in eine interaktive Space-Landschaft verwandeln.

Während der Ausstellung können sich die Besucher*innen einem »Indoktrinationsprozess« unterziehen, innerhalb dessen ihnen spezifische Aufgaben und Fragen gestellt werden. Nach erfolgreicher Absolvierung der Indoktrination werden Besucher*innen Teil des Tom Sachs-Teams, erhalten eine ID und das Recht, an der Installation teilzuhaben. Sie lernen ikonische Elemente vergangener Missionen kennen, darunter das »Landing Excursion Module (LEM)« und »Mission Control«. »Indoktrinierte« Besucher*innen werden dazu ermutigt, sich auch dem Ritual der »Transsubstantiation« (lat. für Wesensverwandlung) hinzugeben.

Besucher*innen können sich von ihren Mobiltelefonen trennen und liefern so einen wichtigen Beitrag zu Sachs’ Feldforschung zur mentalen Vernetzung der Menschheit und zu ihrer Sucht nach Technologie.

weiterlesen

Video

Galerie

Katalog

Es erscheint ein Ausstellungsführer mit erläuternden Texten vom Studio Tom Sachs zu den einzelnen Installationen des »Space Program«, der im Eintrittspreis enthalten ist. Format A4, 20 S., dt./engl.

Nach der Eröffnung wird ein vom Künstler gestaltetes Zine mit zahlreichen Installationsaufnahmen erscheinen, handgefertigt, limitiert und nummeriert, 80 Seiten.

Edition

Eine limitierte Anzahl von 100 NASA-Stühlen des amerikanischen Künstlers Tom Sachs (*1966) ist in Kürze exklusiv in den Deichtorhallen Hamburg erhältlich. Die Edition ist nur in unserem Museumsshop vor Ort erhältlich.

Die Klappstühle waren während der Space Mission in den Deichtorhallen Hamburg im Einsatz, während derer zwei Astronautinnen auf die Oberfläche des Asteroiden 4-Vesta reisten. Jeder Stuhl wurde individuell per Siebdruck mit dem NASA Schriftzug versehen und von Hand mit Namen von Persönlichkeiten beschriftet, die für Tom Sachs inspirierend sind. Jedes Exemplar hat eine eigene Seriennummer und ist vom Künstler signiert. Die Stühle weisen Staub- und Gebrauchsspuren von der Mission nach 4-Vesta auf.

Programm Ausstellungsbegleitende Veranstaltungen

Entdecken