Preview

PRESSED
SQUASHED
SQUEEZED

DIETER ROTH AND PRINTMAKING
#DIETERROTHDTH

up

Falckenberg Collection 3 December 2022 — 19 March 2023

The German-Swiss artist and poet Dieter Roth (*1930 in Hanover, †1998 in Basel) is one of the most prominent exponents of Concrete Poetry. The Deichtorhallen Hamburg is dedicating a major exhibition with some 1,100 works at the Falckenberg Collection to his prints.

Curated by Dr. des. Ina Jessen und Dr. Dirk Dobke, the exhibition Pressed Squashed Squeezed: Dieter Roth and Printmaking presents the main themes of his artistic work in 16 sections, from landscapes to still lifes and self-portraits. Dieter Roth’s oeuvre is considered one of the most multifaceted and interdisciplinary in the visual arts.

After apprenticing as a commercial artist and acquiring a deep knowledge of printmaking processes, Roth experimented early on with a wide variety of printing techniques and materials. His early dry point etchings, linocuts, and woodcuts drew from his artistic predecessors, but he quickly developed his own style between filigree, figurative depictions and expressive abstraction. Inspired by geometric principles and patterns, Roth created Op Art works and kinetic objects.

In 1965 he went to the United States to teach at the Rhode Island School of Design in Providence. There he continued his turn toward experimentation and worked more spontaneously and procedurally. Food products soon also became some of his favorite materials. He created his famous “literary sausages” and “mold pictures,” whose expressive power resulted in a close collaboration with the British graphic artist and painter Richard Hamilton. In the late 1970s, Roth was confronted with the collapse of the print market and turned his focus to serially produced prints, commissioned works, and objects.

Dieter Roth consistently combined his literary work with artistic expression. Until the 1970s he called himself a writer, although he had destroyed his early poems from his youth. Roth continued writing poetry and prose and explored the interactions between writing, language, and wordplay, especially in the titles of his artworks.

The 16 sections into which the exhibition at the Falckenberg Collection is divided illustrate Roth’s immense creative power and the simultaneity of various techniques and subjects with which he engaged in his art.

read more

Vorschau

GEPRESST
GEDRÜCKT
GEQUETSCHT

DIETER ROTH UND DIE DRUCKGRAPHIK
#DIETERROTHDTH

Nach Oben

Sammlung Falckenberg 3. Dezember 2022 — 19. März 2023

Der deutsch-schweizerische Künstler und Dichter DIETER ROTH (*1930 in Hannover, †1998 in Basel) zählt zu den prominentesten Vertreter*innen der Konkreten Poesie. Die Deichtorhallen Hamburg widmen ihm in der Sammlung Falckenberg eine große Ausstellung, in der sein druckgrafisches Werk im Mittelpunkt steht.

Die von Dr. des. Ina Jessen und Dr. Dirk Dobke kuratierte Ausstellung GEPRESST GEDRÜCKT GEQUETSCHT. DIETER ROTH UND DIE DRUCKGRAPHIK präsentiert mit rund 1.100 Werken die Motivschwerpunkte seines künstlerischen Schaffens in 16 Sektionen – von Landschaftsbildern über Stillleben hin zu Selbstbildnissen. Dieter Roths OEuvre gilt als eines der facettenreichsten und interdisziplinärsten der bildenden Kunst.

Nach seiner Ausbildung zum Gebrauchsgrafiker und der Aneignung tiefgreifender Kenntnisse in druckgrafischen Prozessen experimentierte Dieter Roth schon früh mit unterschiedlichsten Drucktechniken und Materialien. In seinen Kaltnadelradierungen, Linol- und Holzschnitten lehnte er sich einerseits an künstlerische Vorbilder an, entwickelte jedoch schnell eine eigene Formsprache zwischen filigranen, figürlichen Darstellungen und expressiver Abstraktion. Inspiriert von geometrischen Prinzipien und Mustern kreierte Roth Op Art-Werke und kinetische Objekte.

Konsequent verschränkte Dieter Roth sein literarisches Schaffen mit dem künstlerischen Ausdruck. Bis in die 1970er-Jahre hinein gab er die Berufsbezeichnung »Schriftsteller« an, obwohl er seine frühen Dichtungen aus der Jugend vernichtet hatte. Immer wieder verfasste Roth lyrische und prosaische Literatur und erforschte vor allem in der Betitelung seiner Kunstwerke die Wechselwirkungen von Schrift, Sprache und Wortspielen.

Die 16 Sektionen, in die die Ausstellung in der Sammlung Falckenberg gegliedert ist, illustrieren die immense Schaffenskraft Roths und die Simultaneität diverser Techniken und Sujets, mit denen er sich künstlerisch auseinandersetzte.

weiterlesen